Jolly Old Saint Nicholas Lend Your Ear This Way

So December 6th is St. Nicholas Day.  Last Year I found an adorable craft project for this holiday.  It’s little paper shoes.  Go find the project instructions here.

I went a little crazy last year and made a ton of them.  I filled them all with candy and gave them to tons of people.  So cute! This year I went for quality over quantity and only made 5.

I have a thing about reusing packaging.  So combining my love of pink and reusing things, I made this:

Isn’t it way cuter than a paper shoe made from boring old construction paper?

I used a Victoria’s Secret bag for the outside.  The ribbon handle from the bag serves as a shoelace. And the inside is the cardboard insert from my Hello Kitty alarm clock.

I even did the bottom in Victoria’s Secret bag.  The tulle inside the shoe is from a bouquet of flowers I received.  I can’t help it, pretty things should be reused.

I might go back and put some trim around the seam where the top of the shoe meets the “sole”.  Just to make it look “finished”.  I have some pretty silver cord from a package I received.

I didn’t take a picture, but for the boys, I used this thin orange fabric from a different bouquet of flowers I received.  They’re cute.  I can’t wait for St. Nick to come.  I wonder what he’ll leave?

One thought on “Jolly Old Saint Nicholas Lend Your Ear This Way

  1. Pingback: It’s Not Easy Being Green | The Incredibly Enthusiastic Girl

Leave a Reply

