Fatheads Cleveland

(originally posted 6/13/2009)

Last night was my second trip to Fatheads Brewery in North Olmsted.  My husband and I needed to celebrate my daughter’s softball team win (hey, it’s a rough job but someone has to do it).

So last time,we shared a sampler of 10 of the Fatheads’s own brews.  It was awesome.  Every one of the beers were great. I also had several full size glasses of both Fathead’s brews and some other beers.  They have 33 beers on tap.  Some of those beers are strooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong! I really didn’t drink that much, I think I had two beers and less than half of the sampler,  but we weren’t eating and the beers hit me much stronger than I thought they would.

This time I had 2 full size beers.  My husband also had two beers and we split a sample of an additional beer.  I started with Original sin hard cider.  One of my favorite beer-like drinks is Strongbow cider (it looks enough like beer to fool the boys and it doesn’t taste like beer).  I enjoyed this far more than Strongbow.  My husband started with Fathead’s Three Crowns Amber Ale.  It was pretty good.  I liked my cider better.  For round two, we had a sample of Fathead’s Sommerfest Lager, Sierra Nevada Bigfoot (a barley wine), and Fathead’s Voodoo Monkey Double Chocolate Stout Cask Conditioned Ale.  The Sommerfest Lager was ok.  I wouldn’t go out of my way to order it again.  The Sierra Nevada was just too strong for me (and I often order strong beers like stouts and porters).  My husband really enjoyed the Sierra Nevada.  I just couldn’t handle it.  I enjoyed the flavor, but it was so strong it made me shudder.  I had to take a few minutes to recover after tasting it.  The Voodoo Monkey was really strong too.  I enjoyed it, but it was also very strong.  I could drink the Voodoo Monkey.  It had a nice coffee flavor to it.

I really like Fatheads.  I love the location (I have so many fond memories of the farmers’ market that previously occupied the site.  Fatheads has the “Welcome to Danny Boys” sign hung inside above a bunch of photos of the old store).  The beers are great.  They have a Beer List that is printed everyday (it’s actually dated) because the beers change so frequently. So there’s always something new to try.  The only two beers on the list that I’ve heard of before are Miller Lite, and Guiness.  They had two other beers from brwers I’ve heard of, but I hadn’t heard of the particular beers, they were Great Lakes Brewing Grassroots Ale and Unibroue La Terrible.  All the other were unknown to me. I love to try new things.

It was great fun.  I will definitely be making more return trips.

Leave a Reply

