Gogglefogger Heffeweizen

I went to Fathead’s last night. My dad, brother, sister-in-law, and a friend  joined me and the husband.  It was an incredible night to sit out on the patio.  And a wondrous thing happened while I was there. The waitress accidentally brought me the Gogglefogger rather than the Bumbleberry I had ordered.
I like the Gogglefogger but this is definitely the best batch of Gogglefogger I’ve had.

Also the Apricot Wheat is delightful. This is the first time I’ve had it.  I have to go back and get more, it’s better than Ithaca’s Apricot Wheat (which is also really good).
I had a bunch of new food items last night. Any night after 9 pm, appetizers are 1/2 price. We tried deep fried pierogis. They were nice, but now that I had them, I’m good. If they had caramelized onions and peppers to accompany them, or some fancy sauce, ooh, or the lovely chunky applesauce that Buckeye Beer Engine serves with their potato pancakes, then they’d be really good.

I split the Cuyahoga burger, I don’t think I had a burger at Fathead’s before. The burger was good, but it was supposed to be really hot and it was only mildly spicy. The fries were great.

My brother ordered the pizza. I would not have expected anything that great but I was wrong. The pizza was really tasty. I’d order it again for sure. We just had pepperoni, not one of the specialty pizzas on the menu.

We had a great time. There were 6 of us, we drank tons of beer, ate tons of food, and I brought home a growler of the Gogglefogger and the bill was very reasonable.

And just so I don’t sound like a Fathead’s commercial, I have one negative thing to say: They totally cheap out on the blueberries in the Bumbleberry. The glass used to be loaded with blueberries. Then for a while, there were no blueberries. Now, there are a couple. The entertainment value of the blueberries bobbing up and down in the glass was part of the fun. And it was far more entertaining the more you drank. Although, I suppose, I had plenty of great company for entertainment so maybe they gave my blueberriesto someone who needed them more.

Leave a Reply

