To Our Health

I have been working really hard to get into better shape.  I know it’s not small, but my goal, when I started in February, was a size 8.  Well, I achieved my goal about a month ago.  It feels great.

I’m really not in that great of shape but people ask me all the time what my “secret” is.  That’s hilarious;  secret.  It’s not a secret.  I’ve been busting my ass.

Today, I went on a 26 mile bike ride.  The first 15 miles I carried 35 pounds of paper and cardboard to the service center to be recycled.  And the path I picked went right by the lake so I had tons of wind resistance to deal with (and hills, my thighs were screaming). Yesterday, I did 7 miles on the treadmill, took a 3 mile walk, and did 25 minutes of yoga. Tomorrow is going to be abs and weights.

I stopped eating fast food (actually, I did that a few years ago).  I try to eat healthier versions of everything that I want to eat.  I eat as much fresh fruit and vegetables as I can.  I skip the free food at work (donuts and pastries and greasy chinese food).  I try not to overeat. But I do let myself eat things I like.  I’ve had ice cream this summer a reasonable amount of times.  I just had a couple of malted milk balls (oh my, I bought these multi-flavored malted milk balls from nutsonline.com.  They are amazing.  I wouldn’t normally buy these things, I stick to chocolate-covered almonds so I can pretend that my chocolate indulgence is healthy.  I’m so glad that I went a little crazy and bought these).

Now that I achieved this goal, I set myself a new goal.  I’d like to lose 20 more pounds by next February.  I’d also like to run a 5 k next May.  I have no delusions of placing in a run.  I just want to finish.  I don’t run outdoors, so I am going to have a lot of work/training to do next spring.

I’ve never been athletic so this is all new to me. It’s been so empowering to see how hard I can push myself, to see how much my body is capable of.  It’s not easy.  Right now, I’m having a very hard time finding a comfortable way to sit; my tail bone is very sore from my bike ride.  And there are parts of my body I still hate.  Those parts are smaller now so there’s less of them to hate.  But I keep focusing on how my body feels, how much stronger I feel rather than strictly how my body looks.

So, as for a secret, there is none. Work hard, eat less.  And stop looking for secrets.

One thought on “To Our Health

  1. Pingback: Raise Your Glass « The Incredibly Enthusiastic Girl

Leave a Reply

