Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness

I love and hate this time of year.  The days of darkness and brutal, bone-chilling rain can really wear a person down.  On those days, I just want to eat and sleep and dream of other lands.

So, I’m doing all I can to fight gluttony and sloth.

Today, I cooked like mad (I had help thankfully.  If someone is unlucky enough to walk through my kitchen when I’m in cooking mode, they had better be prepared to help, or duck as I throw something at them).  I made Moroccan chicken, herbed rice, carrot coconut scallop chowder (I improvised.  I hate cooked fish so I used scallops instead.  And I didn’t fry the scallops, that’s just silly.  I just threw them in the soup), confetti peppers and carrots,  and my own recipe of Singapore Street Noodles.  Yum. So, actually, because of all that cooking, I might give in to gluttony.

I told my hair dresser (thanks Auntie) to change my hair color.  That’s a good way to keep a girl’s spirits up.  It’s so cute and fun.  I usually just go light blonde but this is soooo cute.  I think next time I’ll do strawberry blonde.

I cleaned out my closet.  I had to jettison most of my fall and winter clothing because the clothes are WAY TOO BIG! I love this problem!!! I just wish I could afford to replace it all.  I did pick up three new skirts this past week off various clearance rack (yesterday, I bought the cutest pleated plaid mini skirt).  I seriously have not a single pair of jeans that fit.  I tried wearing a pair the other day and 1) every guy at work had to comment on the fact that I’d worn pants and 2) I had such a huge amount of excess fabric when I tightened my belt that it gave me polterwang (polterwang means I had a bulge in the front of my pants that made it appear I have a penis, which actually wouldn’t be a bad thing if it could keep the guys at work away).  And that was after I tried shrinking them.  I’m not complaining.  I think I’m bragging.  I’m sooooo happy about it.

I decorated the house for Halloween (well, the kids did most of that).  Oh my, I love Halloween.  I love spooky movies and dressing up and taking my kids Trick or Treating and carving pumpkins.  And ooh, ooh, ooh, we just went to a local greenhouse for their fall festivities and went on a hayride and stuff.  And sometime within the next few weeks, we’re going to go to Red Wagon Farms for their fall festivities.  I love the hay maze for the kids.  And I can’t wait to buy their Carmel corn puffs.  So good.  And cider.  And I love carving the pumpkins.

Here’s previous pumpkins I’ve carved.

Ooh.  Just writing this is making me happy; reminding me of all the cool things that happen this time of year.  Now all I can think about is Red Wagon Farms and pumpkin carving and making Halloween crafts.  I found some cool crafts online to do with the kids.  Then I went to JoAnn’s and bought some other craft stuff. I’m so excited.

I have some cool reservations in the next few weeks (gourmet breakfast thing, night at pottery place, Halloween walk with kids and the dog).  I’ve been working on some new jewelry designs and I’m signing up for some sewing classes.

Wow.  I really am fighting my seasonal affective disorder, I can’t even remember why I was feeling depressed.

Leave a Reply

