American Thighs

Last night, I was watching RuPaul’s drag race and experiencing some major hosiery envy watching Manilla.  She was wearing these amazing horizontally stripped tights.  Very feminine and I must have them. 

See, I developed this slight obsession with tights.  This came about when I decided I want to wear dresses and skirts to work everyday.  When you live in Cleveland and want to be feminine in the winter, tights are completely necessary.

Now, I will always prefer a good pair of hold up thigh highs.  Real thigh highs that go all the way up so they don’t peek out when I’m wearing a mini dress/skirt. No matter how sexy or provative a pair of tights are, they still make me feel slightly like a small child on Easter Sunday when I’m wearing them.  I don’t need control top whatever (if you disagree with me just keep that to yourself).  Even when I’m not trying to be sexy, I still feel childlike when wearing tights. 

But there are very few options for thigh highs here.  In fact, it is difficult to find any fun tights.   Target is good.  And Kohl’s had a good selection this year.  But when I surf for tights, the most interesting tights are generally from the UK.

I’ll prove it.  Check these out.

These are brilliant.  These would not be worn to work, but I have these amazing little black suede booties and a ruched, open-back silver dress that these would be perfect with.  These are called Hero and are made by Wolford. These are  33 pounds at Harvey Nichols.  I think I need these.

But no matter how cool these are, and they are incredibly cool, I can’t pay $50 some odd dollars plus shipping and blah, blah, blah for tights.  Especially since most of the dresses I’d pair them with (even the ruched, open-back silver dress) I got of the clearance rack for less than $10 each. 

When I’m older maybe I’ll have to buy better constructed dresses (or break down and buy “shape wear”) to hide my sins, but for now I can still get away with the juniors department. And I’m going to work that for as long as I can. And as long as that’s so, it’s hard for me to justify spending more on legwear than the rest of my outfit put together. 

One of the best non-US sites for tights is mytights.com.  They carry a massive amount of tights, hold up thigh highs, socks and related merchandise. The Pretty Polly brand is amazing. 

The only site that I’ve found in the US that comes close is Sock Dreams.  The selection of tights isn’t as extensive, their focus is socks, of course.  And their socks are beautiful.  Nothing else is as comfortable  as big, gorgeous thigh high socks and short shorts for lounging around the house. In fact, that’s what I’m wearing right now.  But these particular socks were from Target. 

Ok, I have to stop going on about tights or I’m going to go on a buying binge.  I really found so many gorgeous pairs.  None of them looked like the pair Manilla was wearing, but many pairs of equally pretty tights would assuage my tights envy. 

Maybe I will order the tights from Harvey Nichols. 

Shhhh.  Don’t tell my husband.

Leave a Reply

