Grown Up Night Out

I went to Third Friday at 78th Street Studios last night.  It’s been a while since I’ve had the chance to go and I was pleasantly surprised at the new additions.  The last time I’d seen the place, the second floor was just being shown to potential renters.  Now it’s full of studios. 

It has been so cool to see this place grow.  The first time I ever went to one of the events, there were only maybe 4 or 5 galleries and they got together to have an open house.  It was Friday night and Saturday afternoon.  It eventually became a quarterly thing.  Now it’s once a month. 

And there are so many people now. Unfortunately, more people also means more d-bags but that’s comes with the whole art gallery scene anyway.

One of my favorite spots is Kookon Arts Gallery.  And the Gary Spinosa sculpture is still there.  If you haven’t seen it, you should.  It’s this massive wooden and bronze (?) sculpture.  It evokes thoughts of ancient temples and pagan gods.   The first time I saw it, I was totally awe struck.  My reaction is no less intense after half a dozen viewings.  I’m very sad that the other Spinosa works have been sold or sent back or wherever they went.  I love that there are still several Alfredo Arreguin works. 

The Keri-Lee Studio is an interesting place.  I love the 3 dimensional works she produces.  She uses such bright colors in most of her work.  This time, she had this giant gnome she was making for an exhibit at the Holden Arboretum called Gnomes and Gardens.  I wanted to touch the gnome so much.  She had so much detail.  And the texture.  Oh, it was so hard not to touch.

The Charmaine Spencer Gallery is really interesting.  She always has these huge sculptures.  They’re all very organic looking. 

One of my new favorites are Julie Morgan’s studio.  Her artwork is amazing.  The lines are clean and seductive.  Sleepwalker is intense.  I want this piece.

Oh, and the shared space for Dana Oldfather and, well, I don’t remember the other artist in this space.  I really appreciate Dana Oldfather’s work.  I’m glad to see it at 78th studios.  Her work reminds me a bit of Darren Waterston‘s work.  Her spot was very much a place to be seen and many people were there to introduce themselves, especially as her work is receiving so much attention lately.

I had such a good time there.  I can’t wait to go again.  Maybe next month.

Me and my incredibly lucky date ended up at Fatheads (hooray) because there’s no better way to follow up art than with craft beers. 

I started with Collaboration not Litigation.  It’s a blend of two Belgian ales, one from Avery Brewing and one from Russian River Brewing.  It’s was very nice.  The lucky guy had Fathead’s Sorcerer.  I didn’t appreciate Sorcerer the first couple times I tried it, but it’s definitely a nice beer.  I’ll have to put this into my rotation of fall back beers at Fatheads.  I usually go with Bumbleberry and Gogglefogger when I can’t think of anything else. 

I followed up with New Holland’s Dragon Milk.  I’ve wanted to try this for ages but haven’t seen it on tap.  It was really boozy and strong and I liked it very much.  I couldn’t drink more than one at a time though.  The date had a Bear Republic Scottish Wee Ale.  Yummy.  I want another.

The bartender, after seeing the types of stuff we were trying,  was kind enough to give us a sample of Lagunitas Gnarly Barley Wine.  It was athe least offensive barely wine I’ve ever had.  I didn’t even shudder when I tried it.  Actually, this would be one I could drink an entire glass of.  That’s rare for a barley wine.  I always like to try them but I just can’t drink them.

It was a lovely evening.  I might just let that guy take me out again.  🙂

Leave a Reply

