Every Generation Got Its Own Disease

I’ve been training for the Cleveland Marathon (1/2 not full) since the beginning of the year.  My goal is to run the entire thing.  I am NOT a fast runner.  There are people who can fast walk faster than my “run”. That’s not the point there.  Personal fitness is a personal thing.  And even though it’s a race, I’m not competing with anyone but myself.

I have the 21 week 1/2 marathon training plan.  I don’t necessarily do all the miles on the day they are scheduled, but I was averaging 5 miles over the total miles for each week.  I haven’t been running outside so I figured that the extra treadmill miles would help make up the difference between an indoor run and an outdoor run.   Also, mostly, I run intervals on the treadmill.

A little over two weeks ago, my son got sick.  104 degree fever for days.  It was so bad that the doctor had us rotating acetaminophen with ibuprofen (which is a BAD idea as it’s very easy to overdose your kid) because using just one wasn’t bringing down the fever.  It was scary.  My husband and I were switching days off of work.  We had phone calls to the doctor and visits.  By the end of the week, my son had to get a chest x-ray to rule out pneumonia.  It was completely scary.

My little son wouldn’t eat, wouldn’t drink.  In fact, we had 5 kinds of popsicles that he wouldn’t eat. And we had medicine everywhere.  And those stinky little medicine cups.

It was awful.  He literally had a fever for 8 days straight.  It was terrible.  And his cough!  It was heartbreaking.  I was so relieved when his fever finally broke.  But it’s been 17 days and he still has a cough.

Well, the day after my son’s fever broke, I got sick.  I felt completely fine one minute and the next I felt awful.  It came on so suddenly.  It was as though I put on the illness, like putting on an article of clothing.  My head started to hurt and I started coughing and coughing.  And I got a fever.  I very rarely get a fever.  I had 102-103 degree fever for 4 days.  And I still have a horrific cough.  I spent an entire week doing nothing but going to work and sleeping.  I slept 14 hours one night and was still tired when I got up in the morning. I had horrible muscle pain.  I’ve never felt anything like it.  I just ached.

For two weeks, this is what my kitchen counter looked like:

After a 6 days, I decided that I needed to start marathon training again.  I lost EVERYTHING! I am in worse shape than I was in January.  I hacked the entire time I ran, which was only 30 minutes!  I took a bike ride the next two days in a row and had coughing fits the entire time then too.  This sucks!

I’m still tired all the time too.  I have never been this sick.  While I was in the depths of despair over the whole illness, I thought “people die from the flu”.  I know that people die from the flu, but having never been this ill from it, I didn’t really understand.  Now, I understand.  I wasn’t close to death, but I think, if my son was a bit younger/smaller, he would definitely have been hospitalized.  He was that bad, particularly since we couldn’t get him to eat or drink.

Leave a Reply

