Cousinhood

I attended the last day of the Cleveland International Film Festival today.  I went with my oldest, Thing 1.

We went to see Cousinhood because Thing 1  needs some extra credit for Honors Spanish 4.

I have to say, I detest Tower City.  The place is grubby and depressing and, if I decide to go again, I will only go to one of the other theaters involved.  The roads are awful, pot holes big enough to swallow my car, the road signs out of the parking lot directed us to dead ends (not Tower City’s fault but the city of Cleveland), half the store fronts in the mall are vacant, the place is not well-lit, there are only two sets of public restrooms in the whole place and one set is down some abandoned hallway that made me feel very unsafe, and the theater itself is old and shabby.

The movie though.  The movie was funny and charming, if not a bit predictable.  It was bawdy too.  The first scene in the movie had a phrase about fucking like wild animals.  I wasn’t sure if I should cover Thing 1’s ears or eyes.  I want to believe that her Spanish skills are getting good enough for her to understand more, but I’m hoping she’s not learning those particular phrases in class.  Or anywhere else actually.

There was lots of talk about jerking off and blow jobs.  Definitely my kind of humor.  But not when I’m with Thing 1.  I guess she’s more comfortable hearing that sort of thing with me now.  I remember the first time she listened to the Humpty Dance with me after she understood the lyrics.  When the line about “in the 69 my humpty nose will tickle your rear” played, she looked at me, realized that I knew what it meant to and melted into the floor or something.  As though I shouldn’t understood about those things.  Ha!  So maybe it was a milestone or something.  The two of us able to laugh at some blue humor together.  She’s much more comfortable now that she knows that I know about sex.

And now we can watch a movie like this with it’s jokes like “Tona only blows me.  Lovingly” and laugh together.

The movie really does end up being very heartwarming.  I don’t understand why all foreign films look as though they were made in the 70s though.  With the old cars and the dated clothing and the awful moustaches.

I want to buy a copy, so I can watch it again.  It truly was that much fun to watch.  Unfortunately, it’s only available in Non-US format right now.

All I know is, that by going down to Tower City to see this movie, I now have balls the size of Spartacus.

2 thoughts on “Cousinhood

  1. I grew up in Elyria, have family all throughout Cleveland and surrounding areas (Pepper Pike, Chagrin Falls, Fairview Park, ect ect) and I gotta say, Tower City is one place I avoid like the plague unless absolutley necassary too, hate it so much, and am always convinced I’m going to get mugged in the parking lot – so I normally take the train – which I realize isn’t much safer.
    But honestly – coming from Elyria (and especially the neighborhoods I was brought up in) – not much scares me anymore.

    • I’m a suburbanite, but Cleveland is my city. It effects everything around it.
      I drove all the way to Tower City and was captive at that mall for over an hour before the movie. So, even though the mall was poorly lit and poorly occupied, I was willing to kill time shopping. And I was greeted by store owner demands that I turn over packages I purchased at other stores. I was treated as a potential criminal upon entry into a store instead of being treated as a potential, and clearly much-needed, customer.

Leave a Reply

