On Blueberry Hill

I had these delicious blueberry ricotta pancakes during a brunch at Buckeye Beer Engine a few years ago.  I love ricotta cheese.  It just goes well with everything.  As serendipity would have it, I currently have loads of fresh blueberries and a monster container of ricotta cheese in my fridge right now.  The time is right to make some blueberry ricotta pancakes of my own.

My husband and I have both made them since, but somehow we never saved the recipe (huge oversight).  A quick google search turned up many recipes.  I clicked on the first one, from Giada De Laurentiis.  On the ingredients list is pancake mix.  Well, that’s not going to happen.  Pancakes are made from scratch.  The only exception to this is Hodgson Mill Multi Grain Buttermilk Pancake mix with Milled Flax Seed and Soy (I had to look up the name, but I really love this pancake mix.  But I don’t use it much).

I’ve used this recipe before, Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes.  I don’t think I used the orange juice.  I like the lemon flavor better with the ricotta.  Therefore, I’m trying this one, Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes.  But I’m replacing the pastry flour with regular whole wheat flour.  The use of pastry flour here doesn’t feel right.

It doesn’t matter really.  Put together ricotta cheese, fresh blueberries, lemons and something good is going to happen. If you’re looking for an incredible cookie, try these Lemon Ricotta Cookies.  The recipe is also from Giada but it doesn’t use any mixes.  I made these for Christmas and they went so fast.  Everyone talked about them for ages.  And they were pretty easy to make.

Back to my pancakes.  They will be brilliant, but they can’t match the ones from Buckeye Beer Engine.  There they were topped with a blueberry stout reduction.  I can’t even find blueberry stout let alone make a reduction from it.  I’ll just have to muddle through without it.

Leave a Reply

