Well, Aren’t You a Mench

Within the last year or so, the Cleveland area has been invaded by Menchie’s Frozen Yogurt Shops.  There are now 8 where there were none.  The expansion has been sudden with not nearly enough advertising to support it.  I had to look for information on what a Menchie’s was, and I did so just because I drive a lot and started noticing how many there are.

My kids love the idea: self serve frozen yogurt with just about every possible topping imaginable.  I love that it tastes good and seems to be made from quality ingredients.  I also love that in addition to every crushed candy bar I can name, there is a chilled buffet bar with fresh fruits.

My favorite thing to do is use a small amount of yogurt, top it with fresh fruit (bananas, kiwi, blueberries, strawberries, whatever is available) a little granola, and then I allow myself a little hot fudge and a tiny bit of marshmallow topping.  Of course I also get 1 solitary maraschino cherry.  I feel completely indulged without feeling super guilty.

My kids add every bad thing: oreo cookies, twix bars, sprinkles, reese’s pieces, reese’s peanut butter cups, caramel, hot fudge, and everything else they can sneak on.

This is all great.  But I have one thing that bothers me every time I go to Menchie’s.  It’s those spoons.  I’m not joking.  They are adorable.  Look:

They are really well made.  But they are not recyclable. I wish that Menchie’s would institute a recycling program on its own.  There is enough plastic in each one of these spoons for at least 2 normal disposable spoons.   And, unless you’re taking it home, you need a spoon as the yogurt is served in cups.  The very first time I went to a Menchie’s, this stuck out as absurdly wasteful to me.  I finished my yogurt and immediately started looking for a recycling container.  I really couldn’t believe there was none.   And I do go less often simply because of the spoons.

As an aside.  I just saw a press release saying that the local franchise owner wanted to open 20 shops in Ohio by well, now.  The Menchie’s website lists 13 sites in all of Ohio.  I don’t know if they are all owned by the same guy, but he’s 7 short of his goal.

Leave a Reply

