Confessions Part 2

I try to be healthy.

My standard weekday lunch is a nice mixed greens salad with apple cider vinegar and olive oil. Then I add sunflower seeds and garbanzo beans.

I use only high fiber pastas and breads. I add chia seeds to my pancakes for gods’ sake. Pizza is made at home. Fiber is added. Skim milk only in our house. No butter, just Olivio. High fiber cereal. I actually read the boxes. No high fructuous corn syrup. Very little sugar; I use Splenda. I’m not perfect. We eat hotdogs. But they are fat free turkey dogs. We always have nuts in the house for snacks. Cookies are those Who Nu. I try to make smarter choices so that I can occasionally have a piece of cake at a birthday party or a piece of chocolate when I just need one.

In that same smart nutrition vein, I realize that it’s important to eat breakfast. But I just can’t make myself get up on a weekday in time to eat breakfast at the kitchen table. I leave before everyone else gets up and it’s too depressing to sit there by myself. For my entire adult life, breakfast on a workday has been whatever I can stuff in my mouth while I’m driving. Granola bars, bagels with cream cheese or peanut butter or olivio, breakfast burritos. For a long while, I was buying these pancake-wrapped sausage on a stick things through Market Day. They earned a heart-healthy rating. I think they may have been lying. The pancake-on-a-stick things at normal grocery stores are just awful for one. Then I started eating those breakfast Lean Pockets. That egg, bacon and cheese thing. Damn, that was so good. Then normal Lean Pockets were available with more fiber so I was eating that ham and cheese thing or the chicken and broccoli thing or the ham and turkey thing with the whole grains.

But then they came out with those pretzel bread Lean Pockets. Now, every weekday, I eat a Lean Pocket chicken jalapeno cheese thing. They are so good. Not as healthful as the whole grain Lean Pockets. But I’m addicted. I don’t even bother to buy the other flavors. I don’t buy any other frozen foods like this. But every week I find 2 or 3 more boxes of this crap in my grocery cart. They are so good, I could eat one of them. – If you don’t get that reference, you’re not old enough to read this blog.

Delicious, delicious processed food. It’s no longer a secret, but it’s still one of my guilty pleasures.

Leave a Reply

