Going the Distance

My brother just finished his first round of P90X.  I have talked to many people who have purchased it, but know few that have followed it as prescribed.

I expressed interest in trying it, so, as a gift, just before my birthday, he sent me my very own p90x kit.

I opened the box looked at all the print material and the instruction DVD and wondered what in the hell I had wished upon myself.  I still haven’t lost the 15 pounds I gained last summer.  Ugh.  I haven’t been taking my 20+ bike rides at least once a week like was my previous habit.  I love that habit.  I stopped weight training.  I stopped most outdoor running.  It’s all I can do to force myself to run on the treadmill for 30-60 minutes or go for an hour-long bike ride.  And lately I’ve been biking with my husband.  He prefers a slower, fat-burning pace to my cardio pace.

So, I let the kit sit there; pretended I couldn’t see it.  It is true that time was a small factor.  There are music lessons, softball/baseball games, and sports practices and lessons for the two younger kids.  But I still found time to watch tv every night.  I was afraid that I’d start the program and it would be so crazy hard that I couldn’t perform.

But, on the fourth of July, I broke out the first DVD: Chest and Back.  My husband and the Monkey King did this with me.  I have had some elbow issues since around Christmas time.  This workout has 6 different types of push ups and you do 2 sets of each type.  By the end of the workout, waving hello with that arm was agony because of the intense elbow pain.  The Ab Ripper workout was also scheduled for day 1. This was a lot more difficult than the Chest and Back Workout.  I can’t keep up with every exercise, but I did what I could.  I also gave the Yoga a try but, after 20 minutes, we were still doing down dog, plank up dog sequence and my elbow finally failed.  Besides, I was dying. An hour and a half of yoga?!?!?  I like yoga.  But I don’t want to do and hour and a half of yoga.

The next day, if I stuck to the schedule was plyometrics, the workout I about which I was most nervous.  My brother was cut and fit prior to trying p90x and every time he had to do the plyometrics, he would have a post groaning about how hard it is on facebook.  So I just didn’t do it.

About a week later I tried shoulders, biceps, and triceps.  Not bad, but I could still feel this days and days later.

I should mention that I am also trying to train for the Columbus half marathon.  So I have a training schedule for that too.  The past 2 weeks, I haven’t gotten in all my miles for that training schedule.  😦

Sunday I decided that, as summer sports are over, I was officially starting p90x on Monday.  But I also decided to actually try the plyometrics workout.  So I did. I worked hard.  I modified exactly one move in the entire workout.  But I blew through it.  I was tired and sweaty.  And later sore.  But there was not a single move that I was incapable of doing.  It was actually way easier for me than the little 15 minute ab workout.

I guess, although I’ve been lazy lately, all those years of Aerobicise 2000 (the best aerobics video ever.  it will kick your butt), Yourself Fitness (a PS2 game that will modify the workout according to your fitness level, feedback, and available fitness gear), and Gilad Sculpt and Tone videos prepared me for the worst of everything.  Sure, I felt a bit rusty, but I could do it!

Encouraged, I decided I want to do both the P90X workouts and the marathon training.  Apparently, I will neglect everything else but those 2 things.  So Monday I did the Chest and Back and Ab Ripper workouts.  And I logged 4 miles on the treadmill.  I felt pretty bad ass.

Tuesday should have been Plyometrics and 3 miles.  I had a wake and got home very late.  I’m glad I logged those 4 miles Monday which was actually a rest day for running.

Tonight, I did plyometrics again.  I almost like it.  Then I got in 5 miles on the treadmill.  I’m sleepy, but I feel great!  And all that keeps going through my head is that Cake song “the distance).  I’m going the distance.  But if I hadn’t psyched myself out, I could already be halfway there.

2 thoughts on “Going the Distance

  1. Good luck, I’m going into the end of the 3rd week of myself. You’re doing more than I would even think to do with that 5 mile run after a plyo session…at that pace you’ll drop those 15 lbs in no time.

    • Thanks for the support. Good luck with your P90X venture. I saw the Core dvd. It looks way harder than plyo. My brother never even mentioned Core. It’s nuts!

Leave a Reply

