You Give Me Fever

Alright.  It’s not a fever.  It’s an allergic reaction but you try coming up with a song title or lyrics that are applicable!

This year my allergies are crazy bad.  Like I want to scratch my eyes out of my head bad or the inside of my throat is insanely itchy.  I took a run during Thing 2’s softball practice and the skin from my chin to my knees ended up all red and swollen.  It triggered an asthma attack.  Thank goodness I had my rescue inhaler in the car.  I was running sidewalks not through an overgrown field.  I have no idea what caused that reaction.  It was a bit frightening.  I will never run without my Road ID again.  I wish my rescue inhaler fit in the key pouch in my running shorts.

I should make running shorts with a rescue inhaler pouch.  I’ll have a potential market of literally tens of people.

I already run Hepa filters in my house 24 hours a day.  One in the family room and one in my bedroom.  The cat is not allowed in the bedroom.  We wash our bedding frequently.  We have a vacuum with a Hepa filter.  I spray the cat with Allerpet.

This year, it makes no difference.  I’m not getting rid of my cat, don’t even suggest it.  My husband and I seem to be the only ones who are allergic.  My kids are immune.  And the dog is really attached to our sweet little white rescue cat.

I’ve been reading about allergies and came across a really interesting phenomenon called Oral Allergy Syndrome.  I have a boatload of dirty jokes but I will refrain.  Just know that I can’t help it if they continue to run through my head.   The idea is that certain foods, particularly fresh fruits, can trigger specific allergic reactions.  The only specific example given in the article was that fresh apples can affect a person who is allergic to birch tree pollen.

As I said, I’ve occasionally had the inside of my throat itch but I never stopped to think about what I had eaten prior to the itching.  Then I was really annoyed because the article gave only that one specific food example and no information about how one goes about determining such a precise thing as a birch pollen allergy.  I know I’m allergic to pollen.  How do I figure out what kind of pollen?

I’ve done a tiny bit of research and found a nice little article/posting about OAS (oral allergy syndrome) from the AAAAI (American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunolgy).  Well what a complete suck-y bit of information that is.  If I have allergies, and I do, I probably am getting the burning, itching feeling inside my throat from eating fresh fruits!

Look at the list of foods that can cause the reaction: peach, apple, pear, kiwi, plum, coriander, fennel, parsley, celery, cherry, carrot, tomatoes, melons (cantaloupe, watermelon and honeydew), oranges, banana, cucumber, and zucchini.   Except for fennel, parsley, and pears, I eat these things all the time.  These are my good girl foods.

In addition to itching in the mouth and throat, I also have really difficult stomach issues.  I can eat foods and just ache.  It isn’t gas pains.  I will just have this aching in my stomach.  It occurs so often that my husband rather forced me to see gastroenterologist.  I had a colonoscopy, which is every little girl’s dream, nothing abnormal was found.  The full color pictures of my colon were a wonderous souvenir.  I had them framed.

Well, OAS can cause digestive issues.  Great.  I’d much rather eat a doughnut but I don’t want to look like Jabba the Hut.  It’s hard enough to choose fresh fruits over sweets but now there’s another reason I can give myself to chose the cupcake over the canteloupe?

I am cursed.

2 thoughts on “You Give Me Fever

Leave a Reply

