Come on In and Pull Yourself Up a Chair

I have really been having fun trying some new recipes lately (many of my adventures in cooking have been chronicled in this very blog).  This weekend was a bit slow on the cooking time, but I did learn a few new tricks.

Saturday was my day for play in the kitchen this week.  I made pickled red onions, nutella popsicles,these grilled vegetables “stacks”,  and homemade tater tots.

First, the pickled red onions.  I can’t remember where I found the recipe, darn it, or I would provide the link.   I printed it out and I recycled it without saving a copy.  Oh NO!!!
Instead, here’s  what I did:

Pickled Red Onion

  1. Thinly slice a red onion
  2. Add 1 cup of apple cider vinegar, 1 tablespoon of sugar, 1 teaspoon of salt, 1 cup of water to a container, and whisk.
  3. Add the onion and refrigerate.
  4. The longer you allow the onions to pickle, the yummier they are.  Try to wait at least a day.

Oh, I lied, I haven’t taken the recycling out so here’s the original recipe!  Yay!  I can just eat these.  I used them on the sandwich wraps I made for our lunches this week.  So good.  The wraps are spinach, roasted turkey, and pickled red onions.

Nutella Popsicles

You can get the recipe here (actually, you can find instructions for anything on this site).

  1. In a blender, combine 3 T nutella, 1 c cool whip, and 1/2 c milk
  2. Pour into popsicles molds
  3. Freeze
  4. Eat
  5. Repeat

I used skim milk and non-dairy whipped cream.  My kids are in love.

Grilled Summer Stacks

This was the most disappointing recipe and it’s long so you’ll need to follow the link if you’d like to make them.  The idea is to grill some assorted, thick-sliced vegetables and stack them up using some almond “cream” as glue.

The almond cream had loads of ingredients, took a bunch of time, and wasn’t very flavorful considering all the effort  involved.  My husband, who is amazing at knowing exactly which ingredient to add to balance flavors in a recipe, helped me make this more satisfying to our tastes.  This was achieved by going out and picking some fresh dill from my garden and increasing the amount of salt (shhhh, I try to use other seasoning instead, but nuts just NEED some salt).

In between layers of grilled vegetables (which really don’t need any cream, almond or otherwise), the almond cream is good.  I must say that the almond creme works on the wraps I made with the pickled red onions.  It’s more calorie dense then the stadium mustard I would normally use.  Actually, I used the almond creme and stadium mustard on my wraps.

As I said, the grilled vegetables are always good.  You can use the vegetables recommended in the recipe, but anything off a grill is delicious.  Grilled carrots, grilled sweet potatoes, grilled eggplant, it doesn’t matter. Sprinkle a little salt, drizzle some beautiful olive oil and it’ll be perfect.  But, skip the barbeque sauce recommended in the article UNLESS it is high fructose corn syrup free.  Really, most barbeque sauces have high fructose corn syrup as one of the first 3 ingredients!  That’s disgusting.

Indian Tater Tots

Last, I made tater tots.  For the recipe, you can follow the link.  This was disappointingly bland.  I love the idea so much.  If you’re not interested in following the link, make mashed potatoes, season as you wish, form into tater tot shapes, then cook.  You can deep fry, shallow pan fry, or bake (350 F for 20 – 30 minutes, “rolling” halfway through).  I shallow fried mine in canola oil.  I made a double batch because, well, they are tater tots and I have 3 kids.  It was time consuming but they are tater tots so they were worth it.  I must say, after forming and cooking a bunch, I had to keep reminding myself to keep the size small.  I wanted to just make one, 5 lb tater tot and be done with it.  What?  It still would have tasted good!

The pickled onions, the popsicles, and the tater tots are keeper recipes (or at least keeper ideas).  I grill vegetables all the time, I didn’t need a recipe.  It was loads of fun trying these new things.  My kids loved them too, but not nearly as much as the trip to the pool which was followed by ice cream.

2 thoughts on “Come on In and Pull Yourself Up a Chair

  1. Pingback: Boss’s Day | The Incredibly Enthusiastic Girl

Leave a Reply

