Can’t Stop Falling In Love

I was at the grocery store this evening and noticed something both welcome and feared.  Pumpkin beers are slowly creeping back onto the shelves.

I love this because I can use it as an excuse to buy a bunch of pumpkin beers for a beer tasting session.

I hate this because I am not ready for fall.  I love the crispness of the air.  I love nights by the fireplace.  I hate the short, cold, rainy days and nights.

But, I can distract myself from the bad points if I have good beer.

In the past, I’ve tried Blue Moon Harvest Pumpkin Ale (boo), Buffalo Bill America’s Original Pumpkin Ale (yay! let’s do it again), Dogfish Head Punkin Ale (complex, great sipping beer), Fathead’s Phantom Pumpkin Ale (very nice), Shock Top Pumpkin Wheat (absolutely amazing for a mass produced beer), and Southern Tier Pumking (one of my favorites).

Today, I picked up Weyerbacher Imperial Pumpkin and Rivertown Pumpkin Ale.  But of course, one cannot have a proper pumpkin beer tasting with only 2 examples.  I’m already plotting future purchases.
I saw Brooklyn Brewery’s Post Road Pumpkin Ale.  I think I’ve tried this before, but I didn’t record it anywhere I will just have to try it again.  Flying Dog Brewery The Fear Imperial Pumpkin Ale looks interesting.   Sam Adam’s has a Harvest Pumpkin Ale.  Sam Adams can be surprisingly good.  Elysian has Night Owl Pumpkin Ale and Great Pumpkin Ale.  I haven’t seen those in my normal haunts but if Elysian beers are available in this part of Ohio, I know where to look.  Terrapin Pumpkinfest is also on my list.  Again, it’s not one I’ve seen before so I’ll have to seek it out.

Of course, I’ve had New Holland’s Dragon Milk Stout but haven’t tried their Ichabod Ale.  I’ve considered it.  I think I need to add it to my shopping list.

Jolly Pumpkin Artisan Ales has La Parcela No. 1 Pumpkin Ale.  How can I not include that?  Oh, if I can’t find it here then I can skip including it.  But I’m looking.  I think Trader Joe’s carries some pumpkin beers during the fall.

I’m less upset about the impending fall just thinking about trying these.  Now I just have to figure out who to invite and what to serve!

One thing that completely cracked me up when looking up pumpkin beers is the age checks on brewery websites.  I have to be 21 to look at alcohol?  Are you kidding me?  Wait.  Americans acting like alcohol is the source of all evil is another blog entirely.

4 thoughts on “Can’t Stop Falling In Love

  1. I was on a quest all week to find gluten free beer. I don’t drink so I found how interesting the beers have gotten. My 20 year old grandson just found out he is gluten intolerant. So now bread making has turned into a chemestry project. LOL…the beer helps the bread to rise and taste better then cardboard. I hope your toe is better.

    • Dogfish Head has a gluten-free beer. I don’t know if you have any Giant Eagle stores near you, I know it’s a large midwest chain, but the one near me carries at least one brand of gluten free beer.
      Good luck with gluten-free bread. I could not survive without my pasta and bread. I think perhaps gluten holds me together?

  2. Pingback: Pumpkinfest | The Incredibly Enthusiastic Girl

Leave a Reply

