Bread

I used to bake bread all the time. For a few years, before I had my second child and then when she was very little, I made all the bread we ate. Bread, rolls, buns, tortillas, bagels. All of it was made from scratch. At first I kneaded everything by hand. That got old. Then I burned through 1 Kitchen Aid mixers while using them according to the manufacturer’s specifications. I couldn’t believe that. How disappointing. My mother’s 40 year old Kitchen Aid still works and I spent over $600 on my two and they lasted, between the two of them, only 5 years. Disgusting. I’ll never buy another Kitchen Aid appliance. Where did their lifetime warranty go? That’s actually why I bought them. I didn’t know they stopped offering that.

Anyway. After the second mixer died, was briefly resurrected when my husband replaced some parts, and died again. I stopped baking bread for a while. Then I bought my Zojirushi bread machine. I do not enjoy bread baked in the machine, but I use it often for mixing and kneading.

I have a few old favorite bread recipes that I pull out from time to time. They aren’t available online. But, I have decided to share a recipe

Buttermilk Honey Bread

Ingredients:

  • ¾ c water
  • 6 c whole wheat white flour
  • 6 T wheat gluten
  • 3 T honey
  • 2 T melted butter
  • 1 T salt
  • 1 T yeast

Prep:

  1. Add all the ingredients to the bread machine and use the dough setting.
  2. Transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface and half.
  3. Shaoe into two loaves and transfer to greased loaf pans.
  4. Cover with a clean dish towel and allow to double (30-40 minutes).
  5. 10 minutes before, preheat oven to 375⁰F.
  6. Bake for 45 minutes, until golden brown.

One thought on “Bread

Leave a Reply

