Mommy’s Little Girl

Tonight I sat in a hotel ballroom to hear a group of university administrators convince us why my oldest should apply to their school.

I can’t help it that it makes me sad.  I still see my little girl with waist-length hair and her giant brown eyes, just barely tall enough to see over the top of the kitchen table.  I see her just starting kindergarten.  I see her sitting on daddy’s lap while he reads her a bedtime story.  I see her climbing into bed with us because she’s had a bad dream.

I’m not ready for her to be this old.  I’m not ready to let her go off and find her way.

I want her to have every opportunity.  To have the courage to try things.  To figure out what makes her happy.

Only, I’m having pre-empty nest syndrome.  But even when she leaves, I’ll still have 2 more kids in the house.   And I’ll have my kitty.  Even if I have an empty nest, I won’t have an empty lap.

 

Leave a Reply

