Season’s Change

I haven’t posted in a while.  I’ve had loads of ideas but just enjoyed keeping them all in my own head for a while.

I’ve certainly still been baking.  Thing 2 celebrated her birthday last week; the big 1-1.  She requested many homemade food items: tomato bisque with tomatoes from our garden, french baguettes made by mommy, a chocolate layer cake with buttercream frosting from scratch, 48 pretzel dogs  for her party guests, 72 nutella popsicle shots too.

I’ve been running too.  I ran the Susan G Komen Race for the Cure 5k on September 16th.  I ran another 5k yesterday.

I’ve been making beach glass jewelry.  I just received a boat load of diamond dremel bits to do so.  I have a huge batch of pieces just waiting to be strung or used to adorn chainmaille.

Mostly, I’ve been watching my children change and grow.  Thing 2 has decided she wants to take up cross country next year.  She’s been asking me to take her on runs.  I don’t run far or fast.  But I am happy to get her going.  She ran with me yesterday.  It was 45 F and raining.  She stuck with it.

My little son amazes me all the time.  The opinions he has, the stuff he knows.  The skills he’s acquired.  During Thing 1’s birthday party, we played a little 5 on 5.  Some of the girls are my height, 5’6″.  A few of the girls were closer to 5′.  My son is much shorter.  In the middle of all that, he was making baskets with a standard size ball in a standard height basket.  He’s so tough.

Maybe it’s still residual blues from realizing that my oldest is getting ready to go off to college.  Maybe it’s the weather change making me melancholy.  I just don’t remember them getting this old.  It makes me proud and a little sad.  Every stage of their growth has been wonderful and unique and frustrating.  I hate to see each one pass.  But I’m excited for the ones to come.

Leave a Reply

