Honey Chile

I went on one of my massive cooking sprees again this past Sunday. Since it’s getting colder, I decided I wanted to make a bread that uses porridge in the dough. Somehow, this type of moist, hearty bread seems right as the weather turns cooler.

There are two porridge breads that I make. One is the quinoa bread that I made on Sunday. The other is a polenta bread that I’ll make soon and write about in a future post.

I don’t often make a porridge bread. I get impatient and don’t want to wait for the porridge to cool. I can just throw all the ingredients for other breads right in the bread machine. Why should I wait for porridge to cool? Well, because a porridge bread has a unique flavor and texture.

I have included the link to the recipe I use and then I will describe a few changes I make.

Honey Quinoa Bread

 

http://southamericanfood.about.com/od/healthyeating/r/quinoabread.htm

 

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup raw quinoa
  • 2 cups water (for cooking the quinoa)
  • 1/4 cup oatmeal
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 teaspoons yeast
  • 3/4 cup warm water
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 tablespoons powdered milk
  • 2 1/2 -3 cups bread flour
  • 1-2 teaspoons salt (to taste)
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour

Preparation:

  1. Cook the quinoa in 2 cups of water for 10 to 15 minutes, until the water is absorbed. Cool to room temperature.
  2. Cook the oatmeal in the water and milk until liquid is absorbed. Let cool.
  3. Put the ingredients in the bread machine in the following order:
    1. Water
    2. Bread flour
    3. Whole wheat flour (Sunday, I used 1 cup of wheat bran, 2 ½ cups of all purpose flour and 2 ½ tablespoons of gluten instead of the bread flour and the whole wheat flour)
    4. Cooked quinoa
    5. Cooked oats ( I used steel cut oats)
    6. Vegetable oil
    7. honey
    8. Powdered milk
    9. salt
    10. Yeast
  4. Use bread machine on the dough setting
  5. When dough is ready, turn out on floured surface and form into loaves
    1. I’ve used 2 standard loaf pans. I’ve also separated dough into 4 or more small loaves and cooked them directly on the baking stone that is always in my oven
    2. The regular recipe says to use a large loaf pan. I decided instead to make one long loaf. This was a mistake as the bread got browner than I would like before it was done cooking. It wasn’t a total loss, the bread tastes amazing. However, if I were to do it again, I would opt for two long loaves or a batch of mini loaves.
  6. Let rise in warm place until bread has almost doubled in size, about an hour to an hour and a half.
  7. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  8. When oven is hot, place bread in center of oven.
  9. Throw a handful of ice cubes into bottom of oven to create steam.
  10. Immediately close oven door.
  11. Bake for 30 minutes. Cover bread loosely with foil if the top is getting too brown and bake 15 minutes more. Bread should sound hollow when tapped.
    1. Obviously, your cooking time will change with the size of the bread loaves. For mini loaves, check after only 15 minutes.
  12. Let cool in pan for 15 minutes. Remove from pan and let cool completely on a cooling rack.

See, the bread’s a little bit on the dark side, but the taste is excellent. I know a loaf of bread is good when my two little ones will eat the crust. They ate this, crispy, over-browned crust and all.

Leave a Reply

