Say it With Quiche

Part of my epic cooking adventure on Sunday included making a quiche. I have included the original recipe and my changes. I’ve been making quiche using this recipe as a rough guide for years. I love the idea of using potatoes for the crust rather than a pie crust. I hate using premade pie crusts, I refuse to use shortening; and making a crust with butter is difficult.

If you’ve read my previous posts, you’ll see I don’t really follow recipes so much as use them as an outline. I encourage everyone else to do the same. Buying special ingredients to make specific recipes gets costly. Certainly you need eggs for a quiche and tomatoes for a pasta sauce, but you don’t need to have every single item in a recipe. Substitute, omit. Be creative. My dishes rarely are the same twice because I improvise all the time.

POTATO-CRUSTED QUICHE WITH SMOKED CHEDDAR AND CANADIAN BACON



Nonstick vegetable oil spray
1 1/4 pounds russet potatoes, peeled, sliced into 1/4-inch rounds – I used red potatoes. That’s what I had. And I don’t have a food scale, I just took 3 nice-sized potatoes

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 cup
chopped onion
– 1 medium sweet onion, diced
1 cup chopped red bell pepper – I used the florets only from a stalk and a half of broccoli

8 oz of baby bella mushrooms, sliced
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1 cup diced Canadian bacon – had a low fat sliced ham, diced this

8 large eggs – I used 14 because I used a round casserole dish instead of a pie pan
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
4 ounces smoked cheddar cheese, grated (about 1 cup packed) – I had a white Vermont cheddar. It’s not smoked but it does have a lovely bite


Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray 10-inch glass pie dish (I used a 10″ round casserole) with vegetable oil spray. Steam potato rounds until just tender, about 6 minutes (I skipped this step. Not on purpose. My crust wasn’t as brown as it could have been but the potatoes were plenty tender). Transfer to rack and cool. Line prepared pie dish with enough potato rounds to cover, overlapping slightly (reserve any remaining potatoes for another use – What else am I going to use them for? I used them all, but, as I mentioned repeatedly, I had a deeper dish).

Heat olive oil in heavy large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onion, red bell pepper mushrooms, broccoli and thyme and sauté 5 minutes. Add Canadian bacon
ham; sauté until heated through, about 1 minute. Spoon bacon
ham mixture over potatoes in pie dish.

Whisk eggs, salt and pepper in large bowl to blend. Mix in cheese. Pour egg mixture over bacon
ham mixture in dish. Bake quiche until set in center, about 35 (mine was about 50 minutes) minutes. Cool 20 minutes. Cut into wedges. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Serves 4 to 6.
Bon Appétit
The Cook’s Exchange
December 1998
Karen Stocker, Gaithersburg MD

This is my quiche:

Thing 2, my picky picky girl,ate it. Broccoli and all.

I served it with buttered pieces of my quinoa bread. It was a nice change.

One thought on “Say it With Quiche

Leave a Reply

