Oyako Don Remix

This past weekend I didn’t cook very much; I did make a few loaves of bread. However, I’m still rather cooked out from the previous weekend.

The last post I have from that cooking extravaganza is one called Oyakodon.

Donburri means rice bowl (shortened to don) and oyako refers to fried chicken and egg (parent and child) served atop the rice bowl. This is the first time I have made oyakodon. I usually use pork (katsudon). I don’t know how authentic my version is. But it tastes good so I don’t really care. I will include the original recipe (not mine) and the link. I don’t change very much as far as ingredients go. I do, however, make a few modifications in method because I usually prepare it in advance instead of serving it immediately.

Katsudon

 

 

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups Japanese steamed rice
  • 4 pieces tonkatsu, cut into 1 inch-wide pieces
  • 1 onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 1/4 cup dashi soup stock *
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce *
  • 2 Tbsp mirin *
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 4 eggs

Preparation:

Put dashi soup stock in a pan and cook on medium heat. Add soy sauce, mirin, and sugar in the soup and bring to a boil. Stop the heat. To cook 1 serving of katsudon, put one quarter of the soup in a small skillet. Add one quarter of onion slices in the soup and simmer for a few minutes on medium heat. Add 1 serving of tonkatsu pieces in the pan and simmer on low heat for a few minutes. Beat an egg in a bowl. Bring the soup to a boil on medium heat, then pour the egg over tonkatsu and onion. Turn the heat down to low and put on a lid. Turn off the heat. Serve 1 serving of steamed rice in a large rice bowl, then place the simmered tonkatsu on top of the rice. Repeat the process.

* Dashi, soy sauce, and mirin are the most important ingredients to have on hand when attempting to recreate a Japanese dish. I have a book of strictly Japanese cooking. Even the omelette contains these 3 ingredients.

My changes:

I used 3 large chicken breasts, cut longwise to look similar to chicken tenders. I then coated these with seasoned flour, egg, and panko bread crumbs and baked on a rack over a cookie sheet at 350 F until just cooked through. Then I increased the oven temperature to 425 and cooked until crisp on the outside. 10 minutes maybe? I then cut these into 1″ wide pieces

I don’t buy dashi stock in a can. I have a giant box of dashi soup base. It looks a bit like round balls of fish food. I think the recommended ratio is 1 teaspoon to 3 cups of water. I used a tablespoon of dashi with 3 cups of water. It was flavorful and not off-putting at all. But I really enjoy that flavor. You may want to stick with the recommendations on the box.

I definitely doubled (maybe double and a half) the recipe.

The biggest procedural differences are this: I put all the onions in the sauce together. Usually, I stop cooking at this point. So I’ll have a container of sticky rice; a container with the sauce which will be simply the onion, dashi, soy, mirin, and sugar.; and a container with the fried meat (in this case, chicken).

When I go to serve the dish, I put the entire portion of sauce/soup in a pan. I add all the meat. Then I cook as specified and add all the eggs, beaten, at once. I incorporate the egg into the sauce/soup.

I put the rice and the “topping” on the table and let my family serve themselves. It’s not too hard and it’s really tasty.

I had a taste of katsudon today at a Japanese restaurant. It was completely different. The rice was served in a small side dish bowl with no room for the meat or sauce. The sauce was a thick, dark glaze. The flavor notes of the sauce were nothing like this recipe. It reminded me of my husband’s Asian barbeque sauce. I certainly tasted star anise and pineapple juice. It was good, but I like this much better.

 

 

Somehow I missed taking pictures of this.  I apologize.

Leave a Reply

