Crepes

In honor of Sweetest Day (which apparently is only a holiday in Ohio), I made my sweeties crepes for breakfast.

I still use the recipe out of the Betty Crocker cookbook I got when I got married, over 18 years ago.  I don’t pull this thing out very often.  Actually, usually only for the crepes recipe.  I forgot how many old school recipes it has.  I might need to go through and try some other recipes.

Anyway, I’ll share the crepes recipe here along with my changes.  I’m always making changes.

Crepes

*Unless otherwise noted, I simply doubled all the ingredients.  If I’m going through the trouble of making crepes, I’m making a double batch.

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour and 1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 T sugar*
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder *
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt*
  • 2 cups milk*
  • 2 T butter, melted 4 T melted  Olivio
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract*
  • 2 eggs*
  1. Mix dry ingredients in medium bowl.  Stir in remaining ingredients and beat until smooth.
  2. Spray, coat with melted butter, or otherwise grease a skillet.  8″ suggested, use more batter when using a larger skillet
  3. Over medium heat, add 1/4 cup of batter to heated skillet
  4. Immediately rotate pan to completely cover bottom
  5. Cook until light brown
  6. Flip and cook other side until light brown

Betty Crocker suggests stacking with wax paper between crepes.  It’s unnecessary and wasteful.

True crepes should be paper thin.  These will not be like that.  But they are tasty and useful.

Our favorite filling is nutella, ricotta cheese, and some fresh fruit.  It’s delicious.  This morning, in lieu of fresh fruit, I pulled some strawberries out of the freezer.  I had cut, cleaned and frozen them a few months ago because they were getting old and I couldn’t use them fast enough.


I used too much filling but it tasted so good.  My younger kids skip the fruit and sometimes the ricotta cheese.  They like to drizzle Hershey’s syrup over top.  Sometimes I let them sprinkle powdered sugar.  We’ve covered them in whipped cream.  My husband always uses maple syrup on top.

We’ve used marscapone and cottage cheese as ingredients.  Fresh blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries are great additions.  Cooked, diced apples and peaches are excellent also.  If they’re really ripe, I love using diced fresh peaches and cottage cheese.

Sometimes I make a breakfast burrito type of thing with them.  Scrambled eggs, cheddar cheese, sauteed onions and mushrooms and peppers, bits of sausage and or bacon or ham wrapped in a crepe is lovely.

The best crepes I’ve ever had were in Montreal at Jardin Nelson.  Part of their greatness was just the atmosphere, part was because I was on vacation and free of normal cares, part was because I didn’t have to make them, part was because I was in Montreal which is amazing, but mostly they were great because they were delicious and light and perfect.

There were crepes filled with lobster and rabbit and duck and just lovely, lovely things.  It was amazing.  Maybe I need to tell my husband we need to go back so that I can do research on improving my own crepes.
They may not be wrapped around duck, but they are good.  And they make my family happy.

 

Happy Sweetest Day to all of you!

Leave a Reply

