I Don’t Normally Do This

I am a skeptic.

I don’t believe the get-rich-quick schemes. I don’t believe in weight loss supplements. I would love to believe. How great would it be to just believe and by the strength of your beliefs, acquire whatever it is that you desire? How great would it be to get to eat whatever, drink whatever, and not ever gain weight? That would be amazing. Through no effort at all, everything I want could happen. But, I’m not that naïve.

I do believe that there are certain vitamins and minerals that positively affect one’s health. But I think it’s wrong to just pop supplements to acquire those vitamins and minerals. First, they are expensive. Second, who knows what you’re getting in that little capsule/tablet. Third, if I’m not getting the nutrients I need from the foods I’m eating, I’m doing something wrong.

So I can’t remember where I read it, or explain why I gave it a second thought. But I was reading about a supplement that would help prevent skin aging; it’s called astaxanthin. Now, of all the things I hate about my appearance, it’s the loss of collagen that causes little wrinkles in my dimples. Since my major weight loss (70 pounds), my aging skin is my biggest insecurity. I would love to say that I love myself just the way I am. That I embrace the changes that have come as I age. That I am not so shallow to care, to worry. But I’m human.

I read about astaxanthin and I looked up a little more about it. I read that astaxanthin is an antioxidant. It is thought to be useful in treating macular degeneration, cardiovascular disease, and asthma. It is thought to reverse the skin damage caused by sun exposure. It’s thought to treat diabetes and potentially aid in weight loss. It’s even thought to aid muscle recovery after exercise. Here’s info on a National Institues of Health study on cardiovascular disease.

After doing a little research and seeing that there are some studies from reputable sources that indicate positive outcomes from taking astaxanthin, I decided to buy a bottle. I figure that even if it doesn’t protect my skin from further sun damage, reverse the effects of previous sun damage, or provide any other cosmetic benefits, the health benefits are worth a try. I saw very few complaints about side effects from taking this supplement, however, I started with a only 4 mg/day regimen. I can easily up that dosage if I decide that the results support that.

I don’t believe that this pill is a miracle in a bottle. If it was, everyone would be using it. It wouldn’t be a secret. But it will be interesting to try.

I’ll let you know what my results are.

Leave a Reply

