It’s the Great Pumpkin

Here’s another recipe that I have used for many years. I found it ages ago on Epicurious. My family loves it. Except my oldest daughter who recently decided she hates pumpkin. Even my middle child, she who once refused to even touch (literally touch, with her hands) any food that looked as though it ever been friendly to a fruit or vegetable, even she loves my pumpkin cheesecake.

It’s so easy to make. This year is the first year that I added the alcohol. I never drank bourbon (or whiskey, or scotch) so it seemed silly to buy it just for 2 tablespoons of liquor. This year, however, I happened to have a bottle of Crown Royal. Close enough to bourbon for me.

I’ve used a coffee grinder to “chop” my pecans. It is very easy to end up with pecan butter instead of chopped pecans. Grind in short bursts.

I have a spare coffee grinder that I use just for baking ingredients. Mainly for grinding flax and chia seeds. But I’ve also used it to make caster sugar from regular white sugar, “chopping” nuts, and any other small tasks. For large amounts I, of course, switch to the food processer.

I’ve even made a small amount of some specialty flour, although what type escapes me at the moment. If I didn’t have a food processer, or my kitchen was too small, a coffee grinder is a really great replacement for a food processor for the tasks that I mentioned).

Here’s the crust:

Here’s the baked cake:

And the finished product:

And that is perfection! No matter what my bratty, oldest daughter says.

Leave a Reply

