Chocolate Spoons – Homemade Christmas Presents

My brother and his wife both lost their jobs within about a week or so of each other. My brother knew the factory was closing, but it closed earlier than the workers were told it would. My sister-in-law had no idea. Understandably, my brother doesn’t want to exchange Christmas presents. But I still want to show my family that I love them. So I am making some presents this year.

I made jingle bell earrings and headbands for my nieces. I have a tray of Christmas cookies for my brother. But I also am going to make some cheddar cheese-topped soft pretzels. I saw a recipe for hot chocolate spoons and decided I’d try making them.

A dear friend’s mom used to make hot chocolate spoons for the Neiman Marcus catalog. Her next idea was to make bisque-on-a-spoon recipes. She’s been gone many years already, so I can’t ask for her recipe. It would be beyond perfect if I had. She was a kitchen goddess.

This didn’t work out at all as the post suggests. I suspect the issue is with the conversions. I don’t have a kitchen scale so I went online to get grams to volume unit conversions.

Here it is anyway, as I suspect with a few tweaks (i.e., correct ingredient measurements) it’s amazing. And, by the way, mine taste good, they just aren’t as pretty as they could be.

The conversions I saw were as such:

200 g chocolate = 0.88 cups
40 g cocoa powder = 1/3 cup
80 g powdered sugar (icing sugar) = slightly less than ¾ cup

The recipe calls for the pulp of one vanilla pod but never mentions using it.

I couldn’t find wooden spoons. I had a hard time finding wooden popsicle sticks. What’s the story with that?

Most importantly, who has 10 shot glasses just lying around the house? I want to party at that person’s house. I have 3. I can’t remember for sure, but I think I had 4 and one was the victim of a drunken assault. Those things can happen when people start doing shots. For the other containers, I used little Rubbermaid condiment containers and 2 large medicine cups. I made 11 “spoons” instead of 10 so that I could try one before I gave them as a gift.

I got out all my ingredients and prepared to start. In the picture you’ll see I had red crystal sprinkles. I ended up not using these. The third ingredient from the left is a couple candy canes I ground in my coffee grinder. Speaking of coffee grinder, I was out of powdered sugar. So I made my own in the coffee grinder. I’ve made castor sugar this way also. The difference is in the amount of grinding one does.

The first problem, I suspect is that 0.88 cups of chocolate chips is nowhere near 200 grams. I tried stirring in the cocoa and powdered sugar and my mixture looked like this:

That just was not going to work. I kept adding chocolate chips and heating the mixture. All in all I added almost 2 cups of chocolate chips. It still wasn’t enough to “pour” the chocolate into my various containers. So the final product wasn’t as beautiful and smooth as I would have liked. Also, because the chocolate wasn’t “liquid” enough, the crushed candy canes didn’t stick very well. If I had the same issue again, I would have packed the chocolate down well by hand. Then I would have pushed the candy cane into the top firmly before adding the sticks.

They don’t melt very easily so should be heated in the cup with the milk. They taste good and are pretty if not perfect looking.

Leave a Reply

