Christmas Cookies Part 6 – 2012

I love Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. So for my 6th Christmas Cookie, I made Pretzel Peanut Butter Cups.

As always, credit where do, I got the recipe here.

A wonderful side adventure to this was that I made my own peanut butter. I was out of peanut butter and no one felt like going to the store. I had a 5 pound bag of dry roasted peanuts from Nuts.com (I seriously love their stuff) so I decided why not.

Well, let me tell you. Dry roasted peanuts aren’t the best way to make homemade peanut butter. In fact, you can’t unless you add peanut oil. I through the peanuts in the food processor and initially ended up with peanut-flavored sand. We use peanut oil instead of canola here so I easily remedied the situation. However, I’m not sure how many households have peanut oil as a staple. Other than being too dry, the problem with dry roasted peanuts would be the salt. I made about 5 cups of peanut butter (I used it for this recipe and two batches of peanut butter and jelly muffins) and used the end of the bag of peanuts where lots of salt had settled. I used honey to help balance it but I would recommend using unsalted peanuts.

All that said, the dry roasted peanuts give the peanut butter a wonderful flavor. My husband has been using the left over peanut butter for breakfast on bagels and English muffins. He’s also made peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for himself. He hasn’t made any for me though. Selfish.

I substituted butter for shortening. I see no purpose to using shortening (or corn syrup) ever. I substituted one for one, however, it is recommended that you use slightly more butter than shortening for substitution.

Also, perhaps because I used natural peanut butter, the amount of powdered sugar in this recipe was too much. The peanut butter didn’t want to melt well and was crumbly. I compensated by adding a little more butter.

The dry roasted peanut butter give these an extra kick. My kids can’t wait to destroy these.

Leave a Reply

