Cleveland Marathon 2013 Training – Day 3

Today was another 2 mile run.  I really wanted to skip it.  I shoveled this afternoon.  And kind of hurt my shoulder.  It took me over an hour and a half to shovel.  The snow had started to melt a bit and had been packed down because cars had driven over it so much.

The worst was the snow piled up at the end of the drive from the snow plows.  It was so deep and thick and heavy and packed down.  It does me no good to shovel the drive if I can’t get out of it.

So, I really felt that maybe I could skip my run.  But I didn’t.  I made myself get on that treadmill.  I ran 2.25 miles at a pace 0.1 mph faster than I usually run.  I am so happy that I did.  How lame would I be if I skipped the second run in my race training.  The answer is that I would be so beyond lame.  And a quitter three days in.

It’s a two mile run again tomorrow.  I think I’ll up the pace again.  0.1 mph isn’t much which is why I know I can do it.  That little extra every day is going to be so worth it on May 19th.

Leave a Reply

