International Day of Awesomeness

Every one of my days is filled with awesomeness ‘cuz that’s just how I roll.

But in honor of this day, I figured I should up the awesome, through cooking.  I started by breaking out the dehydrator to dry some lovely london broil that I marinaded yesterday afternoon.  I used to make jerky every time I went on vacation as it’s such a great snack for in the car.  I’m leaving on a business trip this Friday, so I decided I would make myself some.

1362937567698
I’ve had this dehydrator forever.  I have no idea if they even make these anymore.

1362937577460I’m making 2 kinds of jerky: “regular” teriyaki jerky and a spicy version.  I can’t wait to try the spicy.  I used the recipe in my dehydrator for the “regular” jerky and added cayenne, red pepper flakes, chili powder, and Trappey’s Red Devil Hot sauce to this recipe to make the spicy jerky.  I adore Trappey’s Red Devil Hot Sauce.  I can almost drink this straight out of the bottle.  I buy it in the quart container.  I once found it in a gallon jug; I was in love.

Next, I made bread.  I make a variation on traditional french bread with wheat bran and whole wheat white flour only, no all-purpose or bread flour.  It’s still lovely and crusty but not so light and fluffy inside.

1362937543611Then it was on to pizza.  I made 6 pizzas today.  They are not perfectly round or perfectly anything as I make them all by hand.  I’m not skilled enough for them to be a uniform shape.  They taste amazing though, and that’s what counts.  I made 3 pepperoni, 1 cheese, and 2 mexican (carmelized onions and peppers, smoky salsa, jalapenos, shredded mexican cheese, and ground chicken with taco seasonings).  Yum.  My kids devoured the first pizza before the second one was even assembled and in the oven!

13629540197231362955934435I must have neglected to take a picture of one of the Mexican pizzas and I’m too lazy to get up and take one now.  If you’d like to try these, I use a variation on Alton Brown’s pizza dough.  I use Trader Joe’s whole wheat white flour and add 2 Tablespoons of gluten instead of using bread flour.  You will need to watch and perhaps add a little extra water, but not much.  It’s a bit denser dough, but I feel less guilty eating it.

Sometime in here, I took the kids to the library where I found the first 2 volumes of Astro Boy, the original by Osamu Tezuka, not that awful live action piece of crap.  My husband loves Astro Boy (and Ultraman and Johnny Sokko – both of which I found on DVD for him), so I checked this out for him, because that’s the kind of awesome I bring to our marriage.  I also found a book of zombie origami!  That is so going to be an evening of fun for me and my little son.

I then made shepherd’s pie:

1362937555038 I went a little heavy on the peas because I LOVE PEAS!  And I’m trying to eat more veg and less meat.

I made blueberry ricotta cheese pancakes:

1362937533293Just to change things up, I used a variation of this recipe from Food Network.

Then I used the rest of my quart of blueberries to make these awesome muffins:

1362951405067using  recipe from Beth Hensperger’s The Bread Bible.  I wish it made more than 6 muffins though.

One night this week will be breakfast for dinner and we’ll have ricotta cheese-stuffed crepes.  So I made the crepes.  I used a recipe online that resulted in lumpy crepes.  I’ll go back to using my beloved Betty Crocker Cookbook recipe from now on.

1362951890937

I thought it was silly when my grandmother bought me this cookbook, but I’m still using it 20 years later.

I purposely made a large batch of the carmelized onions and peppers and the taco meat (ground chicken) that I used for the mexican pizzas.  I will be using these, some small corn tortillas, guacamole,

1362951413281

and this lovely Chipotle-style rice to have a mexican fiesta night.

1362951421352Mexican fiesta night is one of my kids’ favorite dinner themes.  It’s so easy to make but varies based on what ingredients we have in the house.  I prefer brown rice, but I was out today so I used Japanese sticky rice.  In order to make the rice less sticky, I used less water during cooking.  Because no one wants sticky tortilla rice.  Ew!

To finish off the day of awesomeness, I broke out the entire series of Thundarr the Barbarian on DVD.

1362959777561

And I let my kids eat pizza in the family room while watching it.  Because I’m cool like that.

I loved this show as a little girl.  I didn’t realize that it only ran for 2 seasons.  The intro, in case you’ve forgotten talks about how in the year 1994, a comet hurls to earth.  Hahahaha!  My kids asked me if this really happened in 1994 and we’ve recovered since then.  See, 1994 is before they were born.  They thought it was funny that, when this cartoon was made, 1994 was in the future.

They wanted to know if Thundarr was He-man.  I didn’t realize how badly He-man had ripped off Thundarr.  I was not a He-man fan.  How could He-man compete with Ookla?

How could this day be any more awesome?  Tons of cooking and Thundarr.  Hope your day was just as awesome.

Leave a Reply

