Firecrackers

I found a lovely recipe for cracker’s here (follow this lady’s blog, I do. She makes lovely things). I had to make some changes to account for things I did not have or will not use. I won’t include the recipe here, just the modifications. Her crackers are much prettier than mine.

Here are the changes I made to the crackers.

I don’t use shortening, so I used butter, frozen, and cold water.

I didn’t have whole wheat flower, only whole wheat white flour.

Lastly, I also didn’t have dry soup mix. I made my own. I looked up what ingredients are generally in dry soup mix (Livestrong had a good list of ingredients. I followed the suggestions for the spices) Here’s what I came up with:

  • 1 chicken bouillon cube
  • 1 tsp each: salt, fresh ground pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder
  • 2 tsps each: oregano, parsley, and basil.

I had to break up the chicken bouillon to get it to mix well.

Even though mine aren’t pretty and evenly sized, they are really yummy. My kids have asked me to make them again. My husband requested that I use cheese in a batch. They are so easy to make.

I just walked up to my favorite local beer place, Fatheads, and filled up a growler with their lovely Alpen Glow Weizenbock. It will go great with some Beemster XO and these crackers.

One thought on “Firecrackers

  1. I have a cheese cracker that is spicy also I will have to make them and post the results for your hubby, when I get done with my license renewal. You can enjoy it with you pumpkin beer tasting. You can leave the red pepper out for the kids. Thanks for the shout out on my blog.

Leave a comment